2017 Winner of the Ginsberg Prize for Poetry

2017 Winner of the Ginsberg Prize for Poetry


The Humanistic Studies Department is proud to announce that the Allen Ginsberg Poetry Prize winning poem is Time to Come by Marie Claire Macadar, BFA MICA 2017.


Time to Come

Forgive me. I am exhausted, pacing upon the

Unknown, knowing its bottomlessness.

Time to come is a heavy questions mark. It

Undulates endlessly between my left and




The winner, Marie Claire Macadar, is a Fiber Major, MICA Class of 2017.

The Allen Ginsberg Poetry Prize is a cash prize of $500 awarded annually to one graduating senior provided by the Department of Humanistic Studies. Nominations are made by a creative writer teaching in the Humanistic Studies Department, and based on students’ academic standing and outstanding work in poetry. Poems are judged specifically for creativity and craft in language use. This year’s juror is Paul Jaskunas.

The Allen Ginsberg Poetry Prize was established in 1981 by William Kinter, a long-time supporter of the college. The prize is awarded annually to a meritorious graduating senior whose work in language and literature is judged to have been the most creative – the kind of craft in words that is recognized as distinguishing and promising in painting.

Related posts

Leave a Comment